Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net  

Go Back  Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net > Art Lounge and Gallery > Art Lounge
User Name
Password
Home Sculpture Community Photo Gallery ISC Sculpture.org Register FAQ Members List Search New posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-01-2003, 12:09 AM
Level 2 user

Lightbulb For partners/spouses/business managers of scuptors

I am married to a painter/sculptor. I have recently introduced him to the site and so far he is intrigued. However, I'm wondering if there is an opportunity for the supportive spouses/partners to have a forum. I am a long time art enthusiast, but I am relatively new to immersing myself in the community and business angles.

I'll be looking forward to hearing from others.

Ana Sierra ~Jonsson
Old 05-01-2003, 04:43 PM

Talking

The last thing my girlfriend wants to do is talk about sculpture!

I can't decide if that is a good or bad thing.
Old 05-01-2003, 07:32 PM

I find that it is very helpful to have a wife that is not very interested in sculpture. Her intelligent, healthy skepticism is a great way to filter the good ideas from the bad. I figure, if I can make a work that impresses her, it's an accomplishment!

Sam
Old 05-02-2003, 06:10 PM
ISC Member

I think its great to have a spouse/partner interested in helping the career of the artist. I don't actually know of any forums which exist specifically for this role, but there are good resources for helping your spoust/partner succeed.
Obviously scouring the postings on sculpture.org for appropriate opportunities is a good start.
The artist help network http://www.artisthelpnetwork.com/ could be another resource to find ways to support and encourage your artist. The person who put together this site also wrote How to Suvive and Prosper as an Artist - a great read for artist and partner/spouse both!