Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net  

Go Back  Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net > Sculpture Roundtable Discussions > Construction techniques and processes
User Name
Password
Home Sculpture Community Photo Gallery ISC Sculpture.org Register FAQ Members List Search New posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-02-2008, 03:13 PM
Level 2 user

Making a Plaster Mold

I have recently got into sculpting and I did 2 pieces using wax-based clay. I am thinking of making a plaster mold of one of them and casting wax into it - making a candle.

Here are the pictures of the sculpture

My fears and questions are:
1- Jitters - I am totally new to this.
2- How do I make a mold from plaster - no idea. I chose plaster because its cheap material. any good links to instructional material?
3- I was thinking of making it a 2 piece mold (right and left). Is that OK?
4- once I get the molds to dry do I need to treat it with anything - I read about soap?
5- Will I need a release agent so that I don't break the wax when demolding?
6- I was thinking of pouring the wax from the bottom but then how do I get the wick inside to come out of the top? Do i drill a hole and then fill it up with wax?

Thanks for your time.
Old 04-05-2008, 09:03 AM
Level 2 user

Re: Making a Plaster Mold

After no responses and my growing impatience I decided to go at it alone with a different sculpture. In my view, the other sculpture needs only a 1 piece mold. So I read up on internet sources and did it myself. I placed the procedure in my blog here.
I don't know how the results will be yet but I'll find out in a day or two.

By the way how many days should I wait until demolding???
I'll keep you posted with the progress. I am sure my experience will help all the newbies like myself out with this.

Last edited by Wannabeartist : 04-05-2008 at 12:17 PM.
Old 04-05-2008, 10:24 AM
Level 9 user