Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net  

Go Back  Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net > Sculpture Roundtable Discussions > Sculpture focus topics
User Name
Password
Home Sculpture Community Photo Gallery ISC Sculpture.org Register FAQ Members List Search New posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-31-2010, 03:42 PM
Level 3 user

How to plan for "multiple" castings...?

Hello,

A couple of clay figures I made will soon be cast as bronze bookends for sale. Ultimately, I hope that this will be an ongoing endeavor...

As I am totally new to this medium etc., I wondered, given the lead time a foundry need, the cost of casting, I wondered if anyone had feedback/advice on:

1. How to coordinate the sales? Do you wait and take a certain number of "orders" first, then start production? Do you get deposits? How do you handle customers/foundry with the lead time involved?

2. And, how is pricing pricing with the foundry handled for something that's ongoing, but speculative?

Look forward to hearing thoughts/ideas.

Thanks,
Paul
Old 07-31-2010, 10:45 PM
ISC Member

Re: How to plan for "multiple" castings...?

Hi Paul, you leave much unsaid here. First of all, How are you getting your customers? Who are your customers? (These are questions for you to answer to yourself...) How many of these sculptures are you planning on selling? How much can you sell them for? How much will they cost to make? (You can search for pricing sculptures, as I am sure it has been discussed before).
Are you selling directly, or through a storefront (they will take 50% of the sales price).
In other words, will the market support your price point? Art, when you take a step back, and when it leaves your hands, behaves much like merchandise.

You can always get a rough estimate from a foundry for the casting costs. The foundry I deal with will work with me. They are business people. They will give me discounts for larger number of castings, etc.