Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net  

Go Back  Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net > Sculpture Roundtable Discussions > Sculpture focus topics
User Name
Password
Home Sculpture Community Photo Gallery ISC Sculpture.org Register FAQ Members List Search New posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-01-2009, 04:40 PM
Level 1 user

Help!! 9 x 11 feet wood sculpture: dragon, phonix, turtle, tiger...

This is my first time visiting this website; I think it is such a great website. I already learn a few things from it. The reason why I visit this site is because I have a couple of questions that I need help with. I hope that the people in this forum would kindly help me.

My cousin lives in Vietnam and he owns a wood sculpture. The sculpture is 2.7 by 3.3 meter (8ft 10inch by 10ft 10inch). It weight from 1000 to 1200 kg (2200 lbs to 2645 lbs). This wood sculpture came from a root of a tree call Hopea odorata. This tree is call “cay sao” in Vietnamese. He does not know the age of the tree sculpture or the wood that it is carved in.

The sculpture has two sides. One side of the sculpture has the four Chinese mythology spiritual creatures. The four celestial creatures include the Dragon, Phoenix, Turtle and Tiger and these guardians guards the four directions on the compass.

The other side of the sculpture has five figures and each represent Good Luck, Prosperity, Longevity, Happiness and Wealth.

My cousin does not know of the name of the artist, but he said that the root was dug up in Dong Nai, Vietnam. When it was dug up, there were already resemblance of these 9 figures and animals, thus give the artist the inspiration to sculpt the root.