Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net  

Go Back  Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net > Art Lounge and Gallery > Happenings and featured members
User Name
Password
Home Sculpture Community Photo Gallery ISC Sculpture.org Register FAQ Members List Search New posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-14-2005, 06:48 AM
Level 10 user

Talking I'm A Professor!

I just accepted a position in South Dakota as a professor. I will be in charge of the sculpture and art education departments at Northern State University. I'm excited about this opportunity. Any input into building a sculpture program would be appreciated, I will need to rebuild this program. I guess all of this schooling finally paid off.
matt
Old 06-14-2005, 08:19 AM
ISC Member

Re: I'm A Professor!

Hi Matt, Congratulations on earning your professorship. Sounds like you've got a big job ahead of you, rebuilding the sculpture program.
I don't think I could offer any advice, not knowing the situation that you're walking into, but I think that your hard work and well thought out decision making will make the program better.
The best of luck to you,
Have a great day,
Jeff
Old 06-14-2005, 08:43 AM
ISC Member

Many thumbs up for you! And you were the one who asked "Now what?"

As for the program? Don't overlook your own experience. What did you like or dislike about your own education program? After all, you are the one with the MFA. Make it pay back.

The best of luck to you.

"Important artists are innovators whose work changes the practices of their successors; important works of art are those that embody these innovations."
Galenson, David W. Old Masters and young geniuses, Princeton University Press, 2006
Old 06-14-2005, 09:27 AM
Level 10 user