Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net  

Go Back  Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net > Sculpture Roundtable Discussions > Sculpture focus topics
User Name
Password
Home Sculpture Community Photo Gallery ISC Sculpture.org Register FAQ Members List Search New posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-01-2014, 07:15 PM
Level 2 user

The stoner life...

This is a lifestyle question about stone sculpting.
I've been carving stone for 14 years, and I'm still trying to find ways of learning more, working more efficiently, etc. I've done some workshops here and there, but I have no community of carvers near me. I've been living in DC for the past 7 years. There is no quarry, and studio space is expensive and hard to come by. I am interested in hearing from stone carvers about where you are, and how you make it work?
Wendy
Old 04-01-2014, 07:46 PM
Level 2 user

Re: The stoner life...

I started stone carving without any community as well after seeing some carvings made by Taos sculptor Allan Houser, a Navaho teacher. I found limestone which was soft enough to work by hand using no pneumatic tools.

Later I connected with a bunch of experienced stone carvers in Lawrence, Kansas in a group called the Kansas Sculpture Association. These carvers worked with a coarse limestone I do not like so I picked up some Indiana limestone from a mine in Indianapolis.

I ended up getting the stone group to work as a team carving an 11 ton monument for Council Grove, Kansas. But my best work is my own without any "community" ! got much more out of Allan Houser as a carver of stone then the university crowd./Users/vincentvonfrese/Desktop/Navajo Mother:Limestone 2.jpg

Vincent von Frese
Old 04-02-2014, 07:46 AM
ISC Member

Hi Wendicle,

Understand your problem. Am originally from a DC suburb. Moved 90 miles away from DC to Martinsburg, WV for the reasons: rent/housing too high, would have had to maintain separate addresses (one for studio & one for home), & peace of mind.