Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net  

Go Back  Sculpture Community - Sculpture.net > Community Announcements > Polls
User Name
Password
Home Sculpture Community Photo Gallery ISC Sculpture.org Register FAQ Members List Search New posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-21-2009, 04:32 PM
Level 3 user

Best way to fully insure yourself?

I'm still new to sculpture work and have not sold much yet. However, I've been told it is a good idea to have full coverage professional liability coverage? I don't just want slip and fall coverage, as that is not likely, but coverage that would protect me against any type of litigation too, or liability of any type. Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Kevin
Old 01-21-2009, 05:38 PM
Level 10 user

Re: Best way to fully insure yourself?

Basically, the ONLY protection against lawsuits in this world is to either be completely penniless, or to be so rich that you can afford to outlawyer anybody.

In between, where most of us are, you just have to accept the fact that you could die tomorrow, or lose all your money in a depression, or catch the bubonic plague...

And live like you wanna live.

As it happens, I do indeed carry a one million dollar liability policy- but the only reason I do is that I do a fair amount of public art work and work for big developers, both of which require me, in my contracts, to carry the insurance.

If I was not doing this type of work, I would skip it.
Unless I had married an heiress or something.

My policy is a comprehensive business policy, with Safeco Insurance. It covers the buildings I use for my work against fire and theft, covers my work in transit, my tools and equipment, computer and reference books, and includes the aforementioned $1,000,000 liability.
It runs around $2500 a year.
One Million Liability alone usually runs around $1000 to $1200 a year.
Old 01-21-2009, 07:02 PM
ISC Member

Quote: